Custom Search 1

British Ethnic Diversity Sports Awards honoured Sir Mo

MR SPEAKER: Sir Lenny Henry hosted the awards ceremony

SIR MO Farah and Kadeena Cox were the big winners at this year’s Lycamobile British Ethnic Diversity Sports Awards (BEDSAs), staged at the Hilton Park Lane, London on Saturday (March 18).

They were named Lycamobile Sportsman and Sporting Equals Sportswoman of the Year at a glittering awards show hosted by Sir Lenny Henry.

Sir Mo said via video link:

“It really means a lot to be named as the BEDSAs Sportsman of the Year!

“It’s so great to see everyone come together this evening to celebrate the incredible achievements of our diverse sporting communities.”

The multi-talented Cox said:

“I’m very honoured to have won this award and would like to give a massive thanks to Sporting Equals for all the work they do in black and minority ethnic communities (BAME).”


The night was also memorable for a special Lifetime Achievement award given to rugby’s most successful dual code rugby player and 2003 Rugby World Cup winner Jason Robinson.

A special tribute was made to Muammed Ali by Sky Sports' Johnny Nelson and heavyweight
David Haye overseen by the awards host Henry.

Brighton manager Chris Hughton was named England Athletics Coach of the Year.

Ruqsana Begum, the English professional kickboxer received the UK Sport Inspirational Performance Award with Paralympian swimmer Alice Tai winning the Youth Sport Trust Young Sportsperson of the Year award.


Arun Kang, CEO Sporting Equals, said:

“I would like to congratulate all the winners, they thoroughly deserved their accolades. Sporting Equals organise the BEDSAs as we want to celebrate diversity at both an elite and grassroots level.”

Allirajah Subaskaran, chairman of Lycamobile, which supports the BEDSAs said:

“We are honoured to support the BEDSAs, recognising the impressive collection of sportsmen and women from black, Asian and minority ethnic backgrounds across the UK.”

Among the 800 attendees were past and present sports stars including boxer David Haye, Johnny Nelson, athletes Christine Ohuruogu, Tessa Sanderson, Jason Gardner, Donna Fraser, James Ellington, the boxing McKenzies – Duke, Leon and Clinton – and cricketers Moeen Ali and Chris Jordan.

Award winners:

Youth Sport Trust Young Sports Person of the Year:
Alice Tai

British Army Unsung Hero:
Inderpal Singh Cheema

Sport England Community Sports Project of the Year:
Spring SLR

England Athletics Coach of the Year:
Chris Hughton

Spirit of 2012 Connecting Communities:
Al Madina Centre

Mind Wellbeing Award:
Sonia Smith

Tennis Foundation Special Achievement:
Shapla Sports

FA Recognition Award:
Rashid Abba

UK Sport Inspirational Performance:
Ruqsana Begum

Sporting Equals Sportswoman of the Year:
Kadeena Cox

Lycamobile Sportsman of the Year:
Mo Farah

Lifetime Achievement Award:
Jason Robinson OBE

Read every story in our hardcopy newspaper for free by downloading the app.