Custom Search 1

Daniel Kaluuya wins BAFTA Rising Star Award

WINNER: Daniel Kaluuya (Photo credit: PA)

THE BAFTA's took place in London last night (Feb 18) and saw some key BME talent take home coveted prizes.

Daniel Kaluuya was one of the big winners of the night, winning the BAFTA rising star award for his performance in the critically acclaimed horror film Get Out.

The 28-year-old actor beat out competition from Florence Pugh, Josh O’Connor, Timothée Chalamet and Tessa Thompson in the EE-sponsored category, which was voted for by the public.

Kaluuya was presented with the award by 2015 rising star nominee Margot Robbie, who is nominated in this year's Best Actress category for I, Tonya and Octavia Spencer, who received a nod in the Best Supporting Actress category for her role in The Shape of Water.

In his acceptance speech, Kaluuya said: “I've gone blank. Thank you, Tessa, Tim, Josh and Florence. I feel so privileged to be in your guys' company. I am a product of arts funding in the UK. I want to thank people who support that, mainstream arts and grass roots levels.”

“Thank you for letting me think different. I wasn't supposed to say that. We break all the rules,” an emotional Kaluuya added.

Other winners of the night included Welsh-Zambian director Rungano Nyoni for I Am Not A Witch, a film about an eight-year-old Zambian girl accused of being a witch. The director, who was brought up in Cardiff, accepted the prize alongside producer Emily Morgan.

The low-budget feature was made with funding from organisations including Ffilm Cymru and the BFI, and it was the first Zambian film to be shown at the Cannes film festival.

CELEBRATED: Rungano Nyoni and Emily Morgan

Following Nyoni's win, Ben Roberts, Director of the BFI Film Fund, commented: “A brilliant night for UK talent and crew, congratulations to all winners and the nominees. We are especially proud of writer/director Rungano Nyoni and producer Emily Morgan’s BAFTA for I Am Not A Witch.

"In his own acceptance speech for BAFTA Rising Star, Daniel Kaluuya articulated the importance of arts funding on early careers. Rungano and Emily have been supported on this project with National Lottery funding through a successful collaboration with BFI NETWORK partner Film Cymru Wales, through our Vision Awards for producers, and the BFI Film Fund. It was brilliant to see them on the stage last night.”

See the full list of winners below:

Best film
Winner: Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri
Call Me By Your Name
Darkest Hour
The Shape Of Water

Outstanding British film
Winner: Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri
Darkest Hour
The Death of Stalin
God's Own Country
Lady Macbeth
Paddington 2

Leading actress
Winner: Frances McDormand - Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri
Annette Bening - Film Stars Don't Die In Liverpool
Margot Robbie - I, Tonya
Sally Hawkins - The Shape Of Water
Saoirse Ronan - Lady Bird

Chiwetel Ejiofor

Leading actor
Winner: Gary Oldman - Darkest Hour
Daniel Day-Lewis - Phantom Thread
Daniel Kaluuya - Get Out
Jamie Bell - Film Stars Don't Die In Liverpool
Timothee Chalamet - Call Me By Your Name

Supporting actress
Winner: Allison Janney - I, Tonya
Kristin Scott Thomas - Darkest Hour
Laurie Metcalf - Lady Bird
Lesley Manville - Phantom Thread
Octavia Spencer - The Shape Of Water

Supporting actor
Winner: Sam Rockwell - Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri
Christopher Plummer - All The Money In The World
Hugh Grant - Paddington 2
Willem Dafoe - The Florida Project
Woody Harrelson - Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Winner: The Shape Of Water - Guillermo Del Toro
Blade Runner 2049 - Denis Villeneuve
Call Me By Your Name - Luca Guadagnino
Dunkirk - Christopher Nolan
Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri - Martin McDonagh

EE Rising Star Award (voted for by the public)
Winner: Daniel Kaluuya
Florence Pugh
Josh O'Connor
Tessa Thompson
Timothee Chalamet

Lupita Nyong'o

Outstanding debut by a British writer, director or producer
Winner: I Am Not A Witch
The Ghoul
Kingdom Of Us
Lady Macbeth

Film not in the English language
Winner: The Handmaiden
First They Killed My Father
The Salesman

Winner: I Am Not Your Negro
City Of Ghosts
An Inconvenient Sequel

Animated film
Winner: Coco
Loving Vincent
My Life As A Courgette

Original screenplay
Winner: Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri
Get Out
I, Tonya
Lady Bird
The Shape Of Water

Adapted screenplay
Winner: Call Me By Your Name
The Death Of Stalin
Film Stars Don't Die In Liverpool
Molly's Game
Paddington 2

Octavia Spencer

Original music
Winner: The Shape Of Water - Alexandre Desplat
Blade Runner 2049 - Benjamin Wallfisch, Hans Zimmer
Darkest Hour - Dario Marianelli
Dunkirk - Hans Zimmer
Phantom Thread - Jonny Greenwood

Winner: Blade Runner 2049 - Roger Deakins
Darkest Hour - Bruno Delbonnel
Dunkirk - Hoyte van Hoytema
The Shape of Water - Dan Laustsen
Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri - Ben Davis

Winner: Baby Driver - Jonathan Amos, Paul Machliss
Blade Runner 2049 - Joe Walker
Dunkirk - Lee Smith
The Shape Of Water - Sidney Wolinsky
Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri - Jon Gregory

Production design
Winner: The Shape Of Water - Paul Austerberry, Jeff Melvin, Shane Vieau
Beauty And The Beast - Sarah Greenwood, Katie Spencer
Blade Runner 2049 - Dennis Gassner, Alessandra Querzola
Darkest Hour - Sarah Greenwood, Katie Spencer
Dunkirk - Nathan Crowley, Gary Fettis

Costume design
Winner: Phantom Thread - Mark Bridges
Beauty And The Beast - Jacqueline Durran
Darkest Hour - Jacqueline Durran
I, Tonya - Jennifer Johnson
The Shape Of Water - Luis Sequoia

Naomie Harris

Make-up and hair
Winner: Darkest Hour - David Malinowski, Ivana Primorac, Lucy Sibbick, Kazuhiro Tsuji
Blade Runner 2049 - Donald Mowat, Kerry Warn
I, Tonya - Deborah La Mia Denaver, Adruitha Lee
Victoria & Abdul - Daniel Phillips
Wonder - Naomi Bakstad, Robert A Pandini, Arjen Tuiten

Winner: Dunkirk - Richard King, Gregg Landaker, Gary A. Rizzo, Mark Weingarten
Baby Driver - Tim Cavagin, Mary H. Ellis, Julian Slater
Blade Runner 2049 - Ron Bartlett, Theo Green, Doug Hemphill, Mark Mangini, Mac Ruth
The Shape Of Water - Christian Cooke, Glen Gauthier, Nathan Robitaille, Brad Zoern
Star Wars: The Last Jedi - Ren Klyce, David Parker, Michael Semanick, Stuart Wilson, Matthew Wood

Special visual effects
Winner: Blade Runner 2049 - Gerd Nefzer, John Nelson
Dunkirk - Scott Fisher, Andrew Jackson
The Shape Of Water - Dennis Berardi, Trey Harrell, Kevin Scott
Star Wars: The Last Jedi - Nominees TBC
War For The Planet Of The Apes - Nominees TBC

Letitia Wright

British short animation
Winner: Poles Apart
Have Heart

British short film
Winner: Cowboy Dave
A Drowning Man
Wren Boys

Sir Ridley Scott

Outstanding contribution to British cinema
National Film and Television School

Read every story in our hardcopy newspaper for free by downloading the app.